May 21, 2010

Aqua Books: Sheldon Oberman Emerging Writers' Readings

The Manitoba Writers' Guild is presenting their 2010 Sheldon Oberman Emerging Writers' Mentor Program Readings.

The readings will take place on Tuesday, May 25, from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., at Aqua Books, 274 Garry Street (between Graham and Portage).

Duncan Thornton will mentor Donna Chubaty to develop a children's novel.
Sarah Klassen will mentor Hedy Heppenstall in fiction.
Meira Cook will mentor Alex Merrill who is working on a novel.
Sally Ito will mentor Fisher Lavell on Fisher's first novel Roaring River Woman.
Catherine Hunter will mentor Mickey Cuthbert in fiction.

The Mentor Program was named for Sheldon Oberman in 2004. Oberman was a founding Guild member and participated in the very first mentor program as an apprentice, working with David Arnason. Oberman became one of the program’s longest serving mentors.

Oberman was one of Canada’s most popular children’s author, winning several awards, including the McNally Robinson Book for Young People Award for By the Hanukkah Light in 1997 and The Wisdom Bird in 2001.
The Shaman’s Nephew was nominated for a Governor General’s Award in 2000 and The Always Prayer Shawl won the Sydney Taylor American Librarians Award and the National Jewish Book Award in 1994.

Have a great day. How can you miss - you're in Winnipeg!

No comments:

Post a Comment