September 1, 2012

My Winnipeg: There's No Place Like Home

September 8 - October 7
Opening Reception: September 7
Performance: Shawna Dempsey and Lorri Millan, Forest Guides, Nuit Blanche, September 29.

My Winnipeg depicts the city as a mytho-poetic territory of reverie, catastrophe, carnal desire, and (sub) conscious inspiration.  The exhibition will be displayed in four consecutive "chapters", coalescing as the My Winnipeg Project.

My Winnipeg is co-curated by Paula Aisemberg, Sigrid Dahle, Hervé di Rosa, Noam Gonick, Anthony Kiendl, and Cathy Mattes. It is co-organized by Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art, la maison rouge, MIAM, School of Art Gallery, University of Manitoba, and the National Arts Centre (Ottawa).

Viewers are invited to peruse ephemera of Winnipeg's haunted past. They can gather around tables, when Conférencier Grant Guy presents Club Plug In, live art that builds on Winnipeg's history of vaudeville/variety theater, the cabaret, and the nightclub.

My Winnipeg includes work by the Professional Native Indian Artists' Inc. - Daphne Odjig, Jackson Beardy, Norval Morrisseau, Carl Ray, Joseph Sanchez, Eddy Cobiness, and Alex Janvier - curated by Cathy Mattes.

Other artists include: Daniel Barrow, H. Eric Bergman, Joanne Bristol, Michael Dumontier, Marcel Dzama, Ivan Eyre, Neil Farber, Rosalie Favell, Lionel Lemoine FitzGerald, Lewis Benjamin Foote, Gilles Hébert, Wanda Koop, Rob Kovitz, Bernie Miller, Kent Monkman, Robert Nelson, Darryl Nepinak, Hope Peterson, Alex Poruchnyck and Vern Hume, Don Proch, Jon Pylypchuck, Royal Art Lodge, Colleen Simard, Lionel McDonald Stephenson, Andrew Wall, Esther Warkov, and Adrian Williams.

Other My Winnipeg chapters include:
My Winnipeg: Maps and Legends
October 27 – November 25, 2012
Opening Reception: October 26

Artists include: KC Adams, Eleanor Bond, Aganetha Dyck, William Eakin, Karel Funk, Tim Gardner, Noam Gonick, Robert Houle,   Simon Hughes, Sarah Anne Johnson, Kavavaow Mannomee, Diana Thorneycroft.

My Winnipeg: Winter Kept Us Warm
December 15, 2012 – January 20, 2013
Opening Reception: December 14

Artists include: Ed Ackerman, Sharon Alward, C. Graham Asmundson, Louis Bakó, Paul Butler, Kelly Clark, Sharron Zenith Corne, Shawna Dempsey & Lorri Millan, Dan Donaldson, Cliff Eyland, Erica Eyres, Lionel LeMoine FitzGerald, Tim Gardner, Larry Glawson & Doug Melnyk, Krisjanis Kaktins-Gorsline, Jake Kosciuk, Guy Maddin, Bonnie Marin, Robert Pasternak, Linda Pearce, Mélanie Rocan, Paul Robles, Slomotion, Kevin B.C. Stafford, Diana Thorneycroft, Andrew Valko, Jordan Van Sewell, Gord Wilding, and Richard Williams.

My Winnipeg: The Artists' Choice
February 9 – March 13
Opening Reception: February 8

No comments:

Post a Comment