June 1, 2011

Maurice Mierau & MWG Mentorship Reading

Aqua Books is pleased to be the permanent home of the venerable poetry series 
Speaking Crow. The Crow starts on Tuesday, June 7, at 7:00 pm and is followed by two open-mic sets and short breaks in between.

Maurice Mierau is the author of two books of poetry: Ending with Music and Fear Not, which won the prestigious ReLit award for poetry in 2009. He is also the editor for the new online magazine The Winnipeg Review.

Mierau’s work exemplifies a bitter illustration of and a desperate railing against a fallen human world filled with catastrophic violence. His powerful poems, lyric but also given to being conceptual, set up a negotiation between some of humanity’s most compassionate philosophies and those most ungovernable emotions. What is presented throughout is a desire to muck defiantly through human harms toward a state of living in dignity and peaceably.

Manitoba Writers' Guild presents
2011 Sheldon Oberman Mentorship Program Reading
Aqua Books, Thursday, June 9 · 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Mentor and apprentice pairs have been working together on apprentices' projects since January. Come celebrate their successes in this annual culminating event of the Program, which will feature readings by apprentices introduced by their mentors. 

This year's program pairings are: 
Jonathan Ball mentoring Debbie Calverley
Anita Daher mentoring Tara Lee Baxter
Sarah Klassen mentoring Annie Deeley
Chandra Mayor mentoring Jack Frey
Maurice Mierau mentoring John Herbert Cunningham
Duncan Thornton mentoring Reshal Stein

No comments:

Post a Comment